Audio Broadcasts

2019 - Rhiannon Giddens and The Boston Pops Orchestra

Keith Lockhart conducting with Rhiannon Giddens as guest.


Event Information:
Orchestra conductor: Keith Lockhart.
Guests: Rhiannon Giddens and Darius de Haas on vocals, Lara Downes on piano.
Date: May 25, 2019.
Location: Symphony Hall, Boston, Massachusetts, USA.


Event Information:
Rhiannon Giddens of the string band The Carolina Chocolate Drops curates this dynamic concert to rediscover the great Black composers who have been hiding in plain sight in every genre of symphonic music.
From Samuel Coleridge-Taylor whose choral music once rivaled Handel's Messiah to Billy Strayhorn, the genius behind Duke Ellington who wrote "Take the A-Train" and "Day Dream," and Eubie Blake, composer of the groundbreaking Broadway musical "Shuffle Along".
We'll also remember Florence Price, the first black woman to have her symphony performed by a major orchestra, and Hazel Scott, the jazz and piano prodigy who became a Hollywood, Broadway and television star.
Rhiannon will be joined by collaborators vocalist Darius DeHass (Broadway's "Shuffle Along") and pianist Lara Downes, whose playing has been described as "luscious, moody and dreamy" by the New York Times. Also on the program will be a tribute to the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, "From the Earth to the Moon and Beyond" by composer James Beckel featuring special guest narrator former NASA astronaut Dr. Mike Massimino."


Track Listing:

Part I:
Keith Lockhart conducting the Boston Pops:

- Overture to the opera "Treemonisha" [1911] (Scott Joplin)
- "The 1960's: The Turbulent Years", from the film "Nixon" [1995] (John Williams)
- "Space Oddity" [1969] (David Bowie)
- "From the Earth to the Moon and Beyond" (James A. Beckel Jr.), Astronaut Dr. Mike Massimino, narrator

Part II:

- "Boston Pops March" [1979] (Eubie Blake)
- "Lush Life" [1933-1936] (Billy Strayhorn) Darius deHaas, vocals
- "Daydream" (Billy Strayhorn) Darius deHaas, vocals
- Piano Concerto in D minor in One Movement (excerpts) [1932-1934] (Florence Price)
- "Pretty Girl" (Billy Strayhorn) Darius deHaas, vocals, Lara Downes, piano
- "Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle" (Perry Bradford)
- "Lyric for Strings" (George Walker)
- "Idyll" (Hazel Scott)
- "Troubled Water" (Margaret Bonds)
- "You're Lucky to Me", from the musical "Shuffle Along" (Eubie Blake)

Part III:
Rhiannon Giddens on Vocals

- "Pretty Little Girl" (Traditional)
- "Waterboy" (Traditional)
- "Tomorrow Is My Turn" (Traditional)
- "Mouth Music" (Traditional)

Rhiannon Giddens

Rhiannon Giddens